LiveLovetoBake's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

1st week of my CSA Produce from Calvert Farm May 26, 2010

Filed under: Breakfast,Dinner,Lunch,Salads,Sides — livelovetobake @ 5:56 pm

For about a month now I have been looking forward to my 1st year of participating in the Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) produce program through Calvert Farm  .  I signed up for the Summer program that includes 20 weeks of fresh farm produce from their farm.  The farm is located almost 2 hours away from me in Rising Sun, Maryland so luckily they have various produce pick up locations that are much closer to me.  My location pick up is at Montgomery General Hospital located in Olney, MD which works out great since it is about 20 minutes from my work.

Basically, the CSA produce program works by asking for a particular fee prior to the beginning of the 20 weeks.  That money goes towards investing in your food share for the summer.  Then each week you go and pick up a box of  “surprise” fresh produce from your particular location.  It seems as though individuals that live closer to the farm can pick which items they would to have for the week.  Since I am so far away from the farm that was not an option for me.  I do not mind since I like the “surprise” and challenge of figuring out recipes to make with the items that were hand picked for me.  Each week we should receive about 6-7 vegetable and/or fruit items that would cost around $20.  Here is what I received for my first week!

 

Week 1

My first week of CSA produce included the following items.

Red leaf lettuce

Oregano

Spring Mix

Spring Onions (Green)

Strawberries

Rhubarb

Mushrooms

 

How I used all of my fresh produce!

1. Red leaf lettuce and spring mix were used for fresh salads.  I also added some of the mushrooms to the salads.  For the salads I added in cucumbers, tomatoes and if it was for lunch I used chicken as a protein.

2. I was able to use the Spring Onions (Green) when sauteing homemade perogies, in vegetable scrambled eggs, and roasted sesame oil and soy sauce vegetables. 

3. The Strawberries and Rhubarb were used to make a galette as seen in the recipe below.

4. The fresh oregano was a more challenging ingredient for me to use since I do not usually cook with it.  I ended up just adding into recipes that called for fresh herbs.

Here is the recipe for the Strawberry Rhubarb Galette that I would like to share with you.  Enjoy!

 

Mini Strawberry Rhubarb Galettes

Adapted from Cooking with Amy

 

Makes 4 single servings

Ingredients:

Strawberry Rhubarb Filling

  • 1 1/2 cups – Rhubarb, sliced in 1/4 inch pieces

  • 1/2 cup – Strawberries, sliced 

  • 1/2 cup – White Sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons – Cornstarch

Single Pie Crust

  • 1 1/4 cups – All Purpose Flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon – Salt
  • 1/3 cup – Shortening
  • 4 to 5 tablespoons – Cold Water
  • 1 Tablespoon – Milk
  • Raw or turbinado sugar for sprinkling on the crust

Directions

1. Pre heat the oven to 375 degrees. 

2. Combine the rhubarb, strawberries, sugar, and cornstarch. Let sit for 15 minutes, no longer.

3. In a medium bowl stir together flour and salt.  Using a pastry blender, cut in shortening until pieces are pea-size.

4. Sprinkle 1 tablespoon of the water over part of the flour and gently toss with a fork.  Push the moistened dough to the side and repeat moistening the flour mixture, using 1 tablespoon of the water at a time until all the flour mixture is moistened.  Then flour the dough into a ball.

5. On a lightly floured surface, use your hands to slightly flatten the dough.  Divide the dough into four equal size parts and roll each dough from the center to edges into  a circle.

6. Place 1/2 cup filling into the center of the dough rounds and fold the edges over, pinching to seal, place galettes on a baking sheet.

7. Brush the crusts with milk using a pastry brush then sprinkle with raw sugar.

8. Bake for 25 minutes or until golden brown. Let cool slightly and serve.

9. Enjoy by themselves, with whipped cream, or ice cream!

 

 

3 Responses to “1st week of my CSA Produce from Calvert Farm”

  1. Tammy McLeod Says:

    For me, strawberry and rhubarb are the true tastes of summer. I’m making this for Memorial day weekend. Thanks for the post.

  2. Dawn Says:

    That is awesome Amber! I am doing a CSA here in Seattle and I am loving it. The good thing is though with mine is that I get to see what will be in my box and if I do not like that item I can swap out for something else. Way to help a local farmer, especially Calvert County!!! See you in a couple of weeks.

  3. Dawn Says:

    Okay I am a dork, Calvert Farm, not a Calvert County Farm. I just my second cup of coffee. Enjoy the veggies!!!!!


Leave a Reply

